Just another manic Monday

I wish it was Sunday. I wanted sooooo bad to go to Strike class tonight because it will be turning into Insanity soon and i’m going to be out of town next week, but the sickness got worse. All day my thoughts went from punching it out in Strike, to crashing in bed for a long nap as soon as I walked in the door. As the day went on, the achiness, feeling weak, and coughing got worse. So to bed I went as soon as I got home. I woke up to mounds of laundry and 4 hungry boys. I don’t know how moms do it. I mean, I’m sure it’s different when you gradually fall into the whole “mom role” because you have 9 months to prepare – for the complete unexpected, I know… but my oh my is it culture shock to go from an empty house to 3 teenagers! So The Hus and I started dinner – burgers on the grill, corn on the cob, and fries. A veggie burrito from Trader Joe’s for me. I have to admit, it’s kinda nice to have all the handymen around…The trash disappeared right after dinner. The weeds in the patio are gone. And I didn’t have to carry any laundry to the laundry room!

Anyway, I’m starting to feel better tonight. The nap was definitely needed.

393eac1570d65724f444ce6e6ecdb3fd

So question for ya’ll. When you pass people running, do you wave or grunt “Hi”? I used to always feel uncomfortable about this situation because most of the time people have music blasting in their ears or they are walking with their face in their phone. Sometimes they would wave as we were just passing, so then I didn’t have time to wave and then I would feel like they thought I was rude because I didn’t wave. But I did wave – long after they passed! Or I would wave and they were off in la-la land…My feelings about these awkward encounters have slightly changed recently. Partly because after losing one of the greatest men I know this year – my Papa – I not only think about him everyday, but I think about how he was and what he would do – he would be waving and smiling and saying hi to every single person we passed. And so I think about that when I run and try to at least throw my hand up in a friendly-good-job-getting-out-here-exercising-kinda way. And more and more people are waving and smiling back. And it’s motivating when you don’t get a wave back, but a “good job runner!” word of encouragement. Ya know, we are all in this thing together and no matter how in shape we are, we’re each pushing our own limits and that makes it hard on even the fittest person out there. So give that fellow sweaty walker/runner/jogger/biker an encouragement!

HIGH-FIVE-RUNNING_2922

Just a recap on our fun Bachelorette wine tasting party:

998239_10103312043290615_606042479_n

One thought on “Just another manic Monday

  1. I don’t pass too many runners when and where I run, but I often see bikers and I totally do the same as you…smile and wave…and you’re right, I’m sure Papa would do the same 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

