It’s all about food.

So far this week I’ve been LOVING my lunch! I changed it up this week from mega-salads to pitas/wraps with black beans, garbanzo beans, cucumbers, tomatoes, onions, black olives, feta, spinach, and balsamic vinaigrette.  Ohmygosh so good! (Sorry, no pic of this fabulous lunch because I eat at my desk while I work – i’m that important – and we can’t have cameras.) From the time I get to work at 7:30, I can’t wait for lunchtime at 1:00. Ya, that’s me. I think about snacks all. day. long. I start with 3 pieces of fruit – one about 8:30, another piece about 10:00, and the last piece around 11:30. Then my salad – now pita/wrap – at 1:00. If I’m starving that day, I’ll have some kind of carb before lunch – sweet potato chips or bean tortillas.  And I try to make sure I drink at least 3 glasses of water before lunchtime and 3 glasses after lunchtime. Then I usually have 2-3 more during and after my workouts.

I’ve gotten used to the comments from my co-workers too. “Eating again?” “It’s like a fruit & veggie stand over here.” “Did Nikki make the brownies? Are they vegan b/c she is trying to make us eat healthy?” “What the heck are you eating??” “Oh, Nikki only drinks “special” water.” (Because I won’t drink tap water. or Dasani. or Aquafina. or Deer Park. or some others… And I wanted a glass bottle – health reasons – so I bought a Voss water and reuse the bottle. So they all think I drink “special, expensive water”…) But hey, I might be eating all day non-stop, but at least it’s healthy! I mean, when it says ‘organic’ and ‘fat free’ and ‘natural’, you can have as much as you want right?! 😉 (please re-read that last sentence with sarcasm.) This is what my kid is going to think McDonald’s is…

0133d68a387dfe8be70f3128ce721d90

Well I was planning on another Insanity class tonight with a different instructor, but towards the end of the day I realized I was way too exhausted to do all of that jumping and dropping, so I decided to just go sit on a bike at spinning. We did lots of “hovering” tonight which I love because I’m still working on a J Lo booty.

For dinner, it was “chicken” nuggets and tater tots. These meatless chicken nuggets are seriously amazing. I had the Italian ones for dinner, but they also have buffalo ones. The buffalo ones are so hot that we could only eat about 1.

IMG_0616

I used to love reading. Until I went back to school. In 2007. Now that i’m done with school though, I thought I would look forward to reading again, but, eh, notsomuch. I have about 2 shelves of books on my bookshelf that I want to read, but yet when I get home from work and working out, I don’t want to use my brain…So I use my brain to read blogs and watch the drama of The Housewives of it-doesn’t-even-matter. I did pull out a book a few weeks ago and put it on my nightstand! I picked it up tonight and read the intro and started the first chapter. I think I might finish this one quickly! It’s really good and very educational. I’ll keep you filled in of course. It’s about a guy, Brendan Brazier, who wanted to be an athlete and decided to embark on a journey to figure out what would help him become faster and better with less recovery time needed. He was told that he either had to choose being a vegetarian or be an athlete. Needless to say, he is both.

IMG_0617

Have you read any good books lately?

How do you motivate yourself to workout when you don’t feel like it??

Leave a Reply

