What do you do when you have a Monday “holiday” off?

You start with breakfast.

IMG_2432

You have a coffee date with a friend that you haven’t seen in ages.

Then you go have lunch at the hospital cafe with your hubby. Again, St. Ann’s has The Best salad bar in their new cafe. For like, less than $5.

Then you take a 30 minute nap before heading to the gym. 4.5 mile run and then a strength class. For my treadmill run, I did something a little different to make it “fun”. I mean, if a treadmill workout could be fun…I knew I had time before my strength class to run 4-5 miles, so I decided I was going to start out at a 10:00 mile and then continue increasing the speed.

First 3/4 of a mile at a 10:00 pace

3/4 of a mile at a 9:50 pace

3/4 of a mile at a 9:40 pace

3/4 of a mile at a 9:31 pace

1/2 mile at a 9:22 pace

1/2 mile at a 9:13 pace

1/2 mile at a 8:49 pace for a total of 4.5 miles

IMG_2436

Then I made the dinner I had planned for – garbanzo bean burgers and fries. Another one of my resolutions was to actually try to plan out dinner meals for Monday through Thursday at least. During the month of January, we have done good for 1 full week. Since I was off today, I had extra time to actually plan, so I went through my cookbook because I have so many recipes that I want to make that I have never made. I found 3 new ones that are fairly quick and easy, so my meal plan for the week is as follows:

Monday – garbanzo bean burgers and fries

Tuesday – potato leek soup

Wednesday – meatless tacos

Thursday – salmon with baked zucchini strips and brown rice

The garbanzo bean burgers were really easy. I was worried thinking they would be an epic fail, but besides kind of falling apart, we both thought they were really good!

IMG_2452

We topped them with spinach and The Hus added ranch dressing to his. I will definitely post this recipe later! And if anyone has any tips on helping them to not fall apart, I’ll take your tips! 😉

garbanzo bean burgers

And last but not least, that 5-7 pounds I felt like I gained so I started using my fitness pal app…Ya, I stopped using that app. I mean, I hadn’t even actually weighed myself in a while, I was just using my pants and the way I felt as a guide, but as I’ve gotten over that sickness and gotten back to running and “gym-ing it up” regularly again, I feel much better and can tell that my pants fit ok again. Not only all of that, but since I eat so much of the same things everyday – besides dinner – I pretty much know what I can eat and how i’m doing. The only exception is if I have a donut, then I know I’m done for the day and I NEED to workout and take it easy on the donuts for a few days weeks. As far as dinner goes, we eat pretty healthy for the most part, and with all the workouts I do, I feel pretty safe as far as being within the limits of my calories for the day. But don’t let me discourage you from using it if you want to learn and see how you eat in a day! It’s probably great if you eat differently every day!

The end.

Do you do meal planning? How?? When???

Any new recipes you’ve made lately that are quick and easy and you wanna share???? 😉

6 thoughts on “What do you do when you have a Monday “holiday” off?

  1. Yes, we do meal planning. We made a huge plate of lasagna and plan on eating it for the rest of the week. Of course, we have a couple of other meals planned, like a black bean salad and veggie burgers, lol. But lasagna is the main meal. I made a garbanzo bean burger a year ago but can’t remember for the life of me how I got it to stick together. Where’d you get the recipe from? It looks like the same ones I made off of Dashing Dish.

    Like

  2. I am bad at meal planning in advance. I just try to have a bunch of things on hand that I know I will like that I can easily throw together to make whatever I may be in the mood for. It works this way for me but so many people prefer to have it planned out.

    Like

    • That’s a good idea! We really don’t even keep that much in the house, but if I kept a few more “staples” in the house, it might be easier…My hubby is better at “throwing stuff together” and making a meal, but I have to have direction. lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

