Snow day Saturday.

I was SO excited to go to yoga today because, as you remember, Alexander has just started teaching a yoga class at my gym on Saturdays. The Hus had to go to work this morning at 6:00, and when he got home about 10:30 he said the roads were atrocious, people in ditches everywhere, and I wasn’t allowed to drive ANYWHERE. Sometimes I don’t appreciate having a Hus that cares about my safety…just sayin’. Is that bad?!

It IS a winter wonderland mess storm out there though on the real. And tomorrow and Monday are only supposed to get worse. I guess we’ll all appreciate 30 degrees a little more eh? And then we’ll REALLY appreciate spring!! Just tryin’ to be happy while I’m stuck inside…

me

 

I just turned it into cooking and baking day. We made a pot of chili and cornbread and then I made a FABULOUS recipe from The Healthy Mavenpeanut butter chocolate chip blondies! It may be ugly outside, but it’s beautiful in my kitchen! Seriously, GO check out her blog and recipes because you WILL find some healthy, yummy ones! -especially THIS one!

pb choc chip blondies

 

She just posted this creation of hers on her blog yesterday because it was National Peanut Butter day. If you didn’t know that until now, take a minute and let it soak in that there is a day for peanut butter. I know. It makes my heart sing too. No reason we can’t drag that holiday out right?!

Anyway, her recipe allows for a substitution for the brown rice flour, xantham gum, tapioca starch, and potato starch. In place of these ingredients, you can use regular flour. (I emailed her and asked if whole wheat, oat flour or coconut flour would be ok and she confirmed whole wheat or oat is fine, but coconut is too heavy.) So I used the whole wheat flour. But if I had had the oat flour on hand, I would have rather used that. Also, since I have a bunch of different “chip” bags opened, I used half chocolate chips and half chocolate chunks because I didn’t want to open another bag of chocolate chips.

IMG_2522

 

Worked like a charm.

P.S. Am I the only one who loves all the different sizes measuring cups?? And these mini spatula’s that my mom got us for Christmas are becoming loved as well. They are PERFECT for peanut butter jars! (Target, $9.99 for a package of 3)

kitchen gadgets

 

BOTH Phillipi and I LOVED these blondies and they will definitely be made again! So you should really head over to her page for the recipe and try them for yourself – you won’t be let down!

And then there was our chili and cornbread.

chili

 

We used 1 pound of organic ground beef and 1 pound of Boca meatless ground crumbles. This really hit the spot today!

We did walk to get some movies for tonight…in the snow.

snow

 

Oh, and I painted my toes today. It’s been months since they were painted. Although, the only time you will even see the polish is during yoga…

IMG_2523 IMG_2525

 

And now it’s time for movie night! And more pb choc chip blondies…And wine. Hey, being snowed in might not be that bad after all!

wink

13 thoughts on “Snow day Saturday.

  1. What movies did you get? I just watched the Butler last evening, it was good. I braved the cold here in Maryland today to go for a walk/run to get in my daily steps and it was cold!! It was 27 degrees out but really windy!! I wore Adam’s under armour cold gear under my pants and that helped!

    Like

    • Oh – we got the movies: Prisoner, The Spectacular Now, and Thanks for Sharing. We watched Prisoners and The Spectacular Now – both good, but the endings on BOTH left me screaming, “REALLY?!?!?!? WHAT THE HECK!!!”

      Like

    • I wish you could come have some too! (Actually, that is kinda selfish because if we were that close, then I could try EVERYTHING YOU make! haha) My goal is to start actually MAKING all of these recipes I “pin” and save…my next goal is to make your mint protein bars sometime this week, so I’ll let ya know how those turn out!

      Like

  2. It was a snow day for us here in Mass., too. I had to drive to the Berkshires for a banquet for work. It was supposed to be an hour and a half ride there …turned into a two and a half hour ride and we never actually made it there because it was a white out and we literally had to pull over on the side of the road. Between the trip there, and the trip home, I just wasted 4 1/2 hours of my life that I’ll never get back!

    Like

    • Eww! As I’ve gotten older, I HATE driving in this crap. I mean, unless its to go to the gym, then i’m cool. haha. But I really think living in the city has made me hate it more because now there are MORE idiots on the roads…at least living in the country, you only had to deal with the amish buggies and plow trucks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

