Speed day!

Speed workout for this week. Ya, didn’t happen on Wednesday because I HAD to go to boxing. No big. I did my speedy little run tonight. 🙂 Outside. 🙂 In the heat wave. 🙂

IMG_2581

 

I tried to use the Fit Friend app for the speed workout, but either A. I’m too blonde and I don’t get it. or B. I wasn’t doing it right? But I’m not sure how I was using it wrong…it just wasn’t showing my distance or pace, so I had no idea when I was going to hit my goal and how fast I was going (because I had a goal for my “fast pace” of under an 8:00 pace – faster than that even because I wanted to be faster than my last speed workout on the mill.)

So I ended up just using my Nike app. As much as I did NOT want to do my run on the mill and I was ecstatic to get outside to run today, I still had a hard time with managing my pace for the “speed” part. The Nike app is all over the place as far as showing your speed, so while I felt like I was sprinting faster than I was on the treadmill, I really don’t even know how fast I was going. However, my legs, are EXHAUSTED tonight!!! So I know I was pushing it at least!

I started with a 1.5 mile warm up. I TRIED to keep at a 10:00 pace, but every time I looked at my app, I was closer to the 9:00 pace…when I slowed down to 10:00, I  felt like I was walking…Anyway, enough about #runnersproblems. Once my warm up was done, 10 seconds into my first sprint, I knew 400 meters was not happening! That’s how I felt/knew I was going faster than I had on the treadmill last week…at least on the mill, you can keep your speed consistent and know where you’re at…

K, back to my first speed interval. So as soon as I knew there was no way I could go 400 meters at a full on, as fast as I could go, sprint, I changed my plan real quick. I remembered someone talking about Tabata’s the other day on their blog (I’m sorry, I don’t remember who it was because I’m following TOO many blogs!), so I figured I would go with intervals every tenth of a mile. So for 1/10th of a mile, I went all out as fast as my legs would go, and then “recovered” for 1/10th of a mile at a 10:00 pace. I did this for 3 miles and then did a .50 mile cool down. Total of 5 miles, 3 of them being “speedy miles”, in 47:42.

I was definitely tired at the end and my legs were jelly!

IMG_2583 IMG_2584

 

Oh, and I guess I was so excited that we had a “heat wave” going on, that I totally forgot my toe warmers AND my headband that covers my ears! But I warmed up real quick, so it wasn’t too long that my toes and ears were frozen.

 

speed at antrim

 

OH!! I forgot to even TELL you that I signed The Hus and I up for an “event” this summer on June 22nd! It’s not your typical running race, but you have to cover 5-7 miles on foot, so this was a good way for me to “sneak” Philco into a “racing” event with me! 😉 It’s called Urban Dare. It’s basically a scavenger hunt around Columbus that involves dares and trivia. And you have to take pictures of your 2 person team doing each of the “dares”. There isn’t a set course, you just get clues and make your way through each clue. You can “phone a friend”, ask a stranger, etc…but you can’t take rides from anyone! You can use public transportation, but no cars or taxis or roller skates. 😉 I figure this will be a good way to explore downtown Columbus more and a good way to get Phillipi ACTIVE! <insert evil laughter> We have lived here 4 years and have done a lot of exploring, but not a whole lot downtown and I always feel like I’m missing out on a lot of stuff! So yay! And if your interested in doing one of these, they may have one in a city near YOU! 😉

P.S. I totally ran for pizza tonight. 😉 But it was just a frozen, spinach pizza by Simple Truth at Kroger. Nothing new to rate this week.

Today I’m thankful for:

~getting to leave work 30 minutes early ON A FRIDAY!!!!

~the heat wave that allowed me to run OUTSIDE!!!

~coconut oil

8 thoughts on “Speed day!

  1. I was really excited about the “heat wave” too! Only I didn’t run today. But it’s supposed to be in the 40’s here tomorrow, so I plan on running outside tomorrow! Yay for “heat waves”!

    Like

Leave a Reply

