Knee therapy and spinning

You asked. I’m answering. Finally. Sounds like quite a few of us are having some knee issues at the moment. Dang knees. Well, a few years ago, after I completed my first 26.2, with absolutely NO training whatsoever, I obviously ended up in physical therapy for my knees. The therapist had me doing a few strength moves every day to strengthen the muscles all around the knee. Basically, my knees were not equally strong on each side. So these moves are to help build the muscles on both the inside and outside of the knees. They really help me (and I really should consistently do them more), so hopefully they can help some of you! 🙂

1. Cross the right leg over the left leg, then stretch to the opposite side. Hold 5 seconds. Repeat 10 times on each side. Repeat.

DSC_0331

 

2. Lift leg up and then lower down, keeping the knee locked and toes slightly pulled toward your leg. Do 10 reps on each side. Repeat.

DSC_0336

 

3. Using either a pillow folded in half, or a rolled up towel, place the pillow/towel between your knees and slightly squeeze your knees together and hold for 5 seconds. Do 10 reps. Repeat.DSC_0338

4. Using either a pillow or a towel, slightly press your knee into the pillow/towel. Hold for 5 seconds. Do 10 reps. Repeat.

 

DSC_0344

5. Lift leg up and then lower down, keeping the knee locked and toes slightly pulled toward your leg. Do 10 times on each side. Repeat.

 

DSC_0349

Oh, and my photographer was Phillip Gilson of G’s photography. He’s accepting clients of all ages and stages of life…pricing is equivalent to the quality of the work provided. 😉

Ok then. I managed to make it through spinning tonight. I had a few moments where I thought my knee – or hip – wasn’t gonna make it, but they did. At the beginning of class, it felt like it was January 1st all over again! – all the bikes were taken/being used/held for the class as if all of Columbus made a New Years resolution to get back in shape and joined the gym for this, and people kept coming in complaining that there were no bikes available and crying that people had bikes pulled out but weren’t actually sitting on them…come on now, a lot of us get there anywhere between 5 and 5:30 to save bikes for the 6:00 class! If you think we’re gonna sit on that bike for an extra 30-45 minutes before class starts, you got another thing comin’! I say, as long your booty is in that bike seat at the start of class, your bike is SAFE! Anyway, let’s get off that tangent…

Came home and did some abs. Go me!

Today I’m thankful for:

~my personal photographer

~chocolate chip cookies (yes, that was dessert tonight.)

~God giving me self-control against the donuts at work today. THAT deserves a donut! 😉

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Knee therapy and spinning

Leave a Reply

