Running, pizza, a new shower head, books, and an ab exercise.

I know, that is quite the blog post title eh?! I think I could win an Oscar for being random. Anyways, let’s talk about Friday. After all the push ups and squats on Thursday, I was pretty sore Friday! This Pan Away has seriously made a HUGE difference! I mean, don’t get me wrong, I was still sore Friday and today, but not as bad as I usually am! The miracle worker:

DSC_0362

 

I don’t know if it’s safe to put in my diffuser, but I have been doing that too!

Plus, I wore my Pro Compression socks to work Friday to help my legs recover before I knew I was gonna run.

IMG_3060

Anyway, I did make it to the park Friday for a run. I really didn’t know how far I would be able to run, but I really wanted to get in at least 6 miles. Turns out, I felt pretty good after 4 miles, so I did 4 more. I’ve been listening to music or my audio book when I’m on the treadmill, but before hell winter came along, I wasn’t running with any music outside (for the most part anyways). But for this 8 mile run, I cranked my music for the last 4 miles. I felt so slow for the first half, so I needed something to speed me up! It worked! I can’t even begin to explain how happy my heart felt when I ran through melted snow! The sun was shining, the snow was melted, lots of people were riding bikes and running and walking, it was 50 degrees…my heart was so happy to be outside running. Even if my knee was broken, I think I would have had to go for a run just because spring is in the air…

IMG_3075

IMG_3062

IMG_3063

 

So. Friday night, our friends, Rachel and Don, came over for pizza night! I know, does it get any better than friends and pizza?! No. No it does not. We made our own pizzas. And Rachel and I had been wanting to try a cauliflower crust, so we made a couple of those. Since we knew our Hubby’s most likely wouldn’t like them, it was a good time to try them – together. 🙂

DSC_0352 DSC_0358

 

As I was loading the above pictures, I realized we never even got a picture of the other cauliflower crust pizza!! RACHEL! MOM! WHAT THE HECK!? Guess we were busy eating and drinking and being merry. Anyway, the one above we did buffalo chicken with black olives, and the other one had regular pizza sauce and mushrooms, peppers, olives, cheese, and spinach. No onions 😦 because The Rach doesn’t like onions. It’s a shame. They are so good for you. But we can still be friends. 😉

Our review on the “cauliflower crust pizzas”…They are good! BUT! They are NOT pizza. But they are good! So if you are going to have them, make sure you have “real pizza” to, as Rachel said, “chase it”. But if your looking to cut out carbs, this is seriously a GREAT alternative! The crust had a ton of flavor! (I’ll post the recipe we used later.) Only thing we – ME, actually – screwed up, was I didn’t squeeze out enough water. 😦 But we made it work and we know for next time. 🙂 The boys don’t think we would ever eat them again, but we will. 🙂 And even if we hated it, just to prove them wrong, I’d eat them again. (You with me, Rachel? 😉 )

We made sure to feed them first though…with “normal pizza” 🙂

DSC_0354 DSC_0355

 

One with pizza sauce, pepperoni, bacon, and cheese; and one with pesto, mushrooms (which Philco picked off), olives, cheese, and chicken. I know what your thinking, we should open up a pizza shop…

I’m not even gonna rate these like we do with the pizza shops, because come on, they were all a 10. 😉

And for dessert:

DSC_0359

 

Pamela’s brownies and Alden’s vanilla bean ice cream!

So that was Friday night. Today. This is becoming a weekend tradition for the G’s household.

IMG_3068 IMG_3069

 

Then my mom and I ran some errands. Yeeeeeesssssss….shopping. We were gonna go to the park after our “errands”, but then it started raining, she didn’t want to chance it and get a worse cold than she is already getting, and I was ready for a nap! So, with all the excuses in the book out in the open, we called it a day. I came home and took a 15 minute nap, woke up, and decided it was too nice to not do a little 5k. So a little 5k I ran! It was only sprinkling a little, but the wind was more than I expected! And it definitely didn’t feel like 50 degrees like my phone said!

IMG_3071 IMG_3074

 

Came home, stretched (I know! GO ME!), and had quality time with a beach towel and some weights.

IMG_3077 IMG_3081

 

FYI: this is a GREAT simple ab exercise! (Don’t mind the towel…when I got outta the shower, I was already feelin’ it in my abs while I was getting dressed, so I knew I needed to share “the move” with you. 🙂 )

IMG_3087 IMG_3088

 

(And no, my shirt does not say a bad word. It’s fOcker. As in ‘Meet The Fockers’….it was our sand volleyball team name. 🙂 )

Speaking of showers, The Hus got us a new shower head today. I know, seems like a boring thing to get all excited about, but it has 7 different settings and is AMAZING! And Boyzzz was so excited about this thing, that he stood outside of the shower and kept changing the settings so that I could experience them all. Repeatedly.

IMG_3084

 

I also stocked up on some bargain books today. Buy 3, get 1 free. I’m a sucker for love stories…

DSC_0366

 

So if I’m walking around or running like a zombie, it’s because I skipped sleeping to finish a book.

And now it’s time for this. And movie night.

DSC_0368

 

Hope your having a great weekend!

Is spring showing it’s lovely face in your area yet?

Have you had any great pizza lately from a local pizza joint?? Tell me about it! 

 

6 thoughts on “Running, pizza, a new shower head, books, and an ab exercise.

  1. It was “warmer” here in Massachusetts today, and I really wished I could get out the door and go running. Luckily, hubby made some party pizza for me to drown my sorrows in. I think I’m going to have to make myself some of that cauliflower crust pizza, I’ve been wanting to try that for awhile! But I’ll probably have to get a regular one for JP for the same reason you did. He doesn’t like pizza that isn’t like a normal pizza…

    Like

    • At least it’s getting warmer! The warmer it gets, the more you will feel like “getting out there”! You know I will ALWAYS agree that pizza is a great way to drown your sorrows! That’s a good hubby right there! 😉 Yes, you should try the cauliflower crust!

      Like

Leave a Reply

