Finding a marathon training plan and the Activmotion bar

So I spent the good part of my day looking through various marathon training plans. Only to come back to Hal Higdon’s Novice one…that I have had bookmarked for YEARS. I figured the longest training run I would be doing would be at least 22 or 23 miles, but pretty much all of the novice plans I found, maxed out at 20 miles. It just seems like, ya, 20 miles is a LOT, but I feel like, you are “hitting the wall” around mile 20, so I would think you would want a couple training runs that are closer to 26 miles than 20, no? What is your longest training run?? 

I figure since this really is going to be my first full marathon that I’m actually training for, I should go with the novice plan. I decided on the novice 2 plan just because I have been running for a while and by the time I start my training, I’ll have a few 1/2 marathons under my belt just this year. And training should start about the middle of June. Oh man. That is 2 months away, but it is going to come FAST! Especially with the training and 2 halves I have in May…

Here is Hal Higdon’s novice 2 plan that I think I’m gonna go with…

WEEK MON TUE WED THU FRI SAT SUN
1 Rest 3 m run 5 m pace 3 m run Rest 8 Cross
2 Rest 3 m run 5 m run 3 m run Rest 9 Cross
3 Rest 3 m run 5 m pace 3 m run Rest 6 Cross
4 Rest 3 m run 6 m pace 3 m run Rest 11 Cross
5 Rest 3 m run 6 m run 3 m run Rest 12 Cross
6 Rest 3 m run 6 m pace 3 m run Rest 9 Cross
7 Rest 4 m run 7 m pace 4 m run Rest 14 Cross
8 Rest 4 m run 7 m run 4 m run Rest 15 Cross
9 Rest 4 m run 7 m pace 4 m run Rest Rest Half Marathon
10 Rest 4 m run 8 m pace 4 m run Rest 17 Cross
11 Rest 5 m run 8 m run 5 m run Rest 18 Cross
12 Rest 5 m run 8 m pace 5 m run Rest 13 Cross
13 Rest 5 m run 5 m pace 5 m run Rest 19 Cross
14 Rest 5 m run 8 m run 5 m run Rest 12 Cross
15 Rest 5 m run 5 m pace 5 m run Rest 20 Cross
16 Rest 5 m run 4 m pace 5 m run Rest 12 Cross
17 Rest 4 m run 3 m run 4 m run Rest 8 Cross
18 Rest 3 m run 2 m run Rest Rest 2 m run Marathon

Not gonna lie, one of those shorter runs in the middle of the week, will probably turn into cross training…or I will at least add a cross training class in there with the run. I can’t miss out on strike and strength for 18 weeks!!! That, and Wednesdays will most likely be my rest days instead of Mondays. Two reasons: 1. strike is on Monday, so I can do a run and strike on Mondays; and 2. Wednesdays I have Bible study, so that being my rest day just works out better. So am I even following Hal’s training plan?! 😉

So. As I told ya yesterday, I’m now an ambassador for the Activmotion bar. I’ve talked about these bars a number of times now – and won a couple of them in a raffle – so I can honestly say that I love them and I’m excited to be an ambassador for them!

DSC_0535 DSC_0541

AND! I’m even MORE excited to share with you, a 10% discount code on any of their bars! They have 6, 8, 10, 15, and 18 pound bars. I have the 8 and 10 pound bars. They also offer videos to give you some workouts to do, ideas for exercises to target “trouble zones”, and I’ve learned a lot of other moves just taking a class that uses these bars. I’m not sure what fitness centers/gyms have these bars, but if I were you, I’d do some research and find out if there are any in your area! It’s worth it. Or having one in your home gym would be a great addition. Anyhow, back to the discount. You can click here and type in “Nicole” at the checkout to receive 10% off your purchase. (Their website is: http://www.activmotionbar.com)

So there, that’s whats up in my world. 🙂

What is one of your favorite cross training workouts?

Have you ever used weighted bars or the Activmotion bars to workout??

 

 

8 thoughts on “Finding a marathon training plan and the Activmotion bar

  1. I’m guessing I missed the post about you announcing a marathon. I know I haven’t been commenting {hello life! lol} so I am sad that I missed it! CONGRATS on this awesome decision. I am running my first in October. I was looking at plans as well and really like the one above too. I was talking to my hubby about it and we agreed that I should run longer than 20 miles. Training until 20 miles is great but you still have 6.2 miles to run. I think I will feel more prepared if I run 22-24 miles because when I hit those mile markers I know I only have 2 miles to run instead of 6!
    Also, definitely tweak training to your abilities, but you knew that!!! We still want to be happy during training and not miserable. I know for both my halves, at some point, I took 4-5 days off of running because I needed to and felt SO much better!!!
    Can’t wait to hear about training 🙂

    Like

    • Glad to hear I wasn’t the only one thinking that way! Well we will probably be on close to the same training schedule since we’re both running fulls in October! Can’t wait to hear about your training too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

