Cap City’s 12th Half Marathon 2014

Second half marathon of the year is in the books! My official time said 2:10:42, and my watch said:

IMG_3553

I guess I’ll go with the official results and take the 3 seconds! 😉

I guess I’m pretty consistent, because my time at the last half marathon in March was 2:10:25. I really need to work on the last 3 miles. Just a 5k. That’s what I tell myself and then I lose all energy, strength in my legs, motivation, and it’s all downhill from there. However! Yesterday, it wasn’t all downhill from there! – It was all uphill from there! LITERALLY! Cap City changed the route this year, which was a nice view and it was pretty run (although I don’t remember what we looked at last year because I wasn’t really looking around…), but they definitely “saved the worst best for last”. Hills. HILLS! FOUR hills to be exact. Maybe it was 5? IN THE LAST 3 MILES!!!!! I believe my exact words in my head were: “what have I done, I signed up for another one of these in 2 weeks? And I WANT to do a full marathon in October?! What the HECK am I thinking?!” (P.S. I AM signed up for the Columbus FULL marathon in October! Signed up this morning so I couldn’t keep thinking about it and talk myself out of it.)

Anyway, let’s go back to the beginning. Rachel and I lost each other – I thought – in the first mile, but she said we lost each other in the first 45 seconds. Oops. She said she lost me when I started weaving in and out of people. I just like to TRY to get outta all the “congestion” in the beginning. And I’m really thinking I’m messed up because I have come to realize, that no matter how I start, I’m GOING to slow down by the end. So, if I start at a 5:00 pace – because who doesn’t start out that fast – I will end with a 10:30 pace. But if I start out at a 10:00 pace, I’ll end with a 15:00 pace. So I’ve just started going out a little faster than usual, which actually feels comfortable, until the last couple miles…

So. I was on my own and she was on her own. I quickly found a Rachel look-alike though – in blonde – who was doing about a 9:30ish pace, so I just started following her.

blonde rachel

Until mile 10. When the hills started. And I stopped. I mean, not literally, but the pace stopped. I ran like a turtle up the first 2 hills, by the third hill, I had to walk for like, 10 seconds. Got to the 4th hill – which was literally like, mile 12.5, and I had to walk for about 20 seconds. That was when I heard Alexander’s voice say, “why would you stop NOW?!?” (He says that in class a lot.) And I heard a lady yell, “just one more left turn and your home free!” I saw the turn right THERE, and was able to start running again. At this point, I was so ready to be done running, that it was an all out sprint to the finish. By sprint, I mean like, a 9:30 pace, which felt like I was at a 5:00 pace. But NOT. 😉

Of COURSE I felt great seconds after the finish line. And KNEW I made the right decision to do this again in Cleveland in 2 weeks. What finisher doesn’t think that?! 🙂

I fueled during the race with some Ignite Naturals InRefresh electrolytes and my usual Honey Stingers. Works every time!

Meanwhile, The Hus, and Rachel’s Hus, took over 300 pictures. Of I don’t even know who or what…

DSC_0959

We. Are. Ready.

DSC_1188

Mile 8.

DSC_1144

Mile 8. Rach with her cheerleader.

DSC_1220

DONE!

DSC_1223

DSC_1257

I decided that next year, I’m getting the boys shirts made. Phil’s will say ‘Nikki’s cheerleader’. And Don’s will say ‘Rachel’s cheerleader’.

Afterwards, blueberry pancakes and BACON!

IMG_3539

Nap for the photographer.

IMG_3544

Nursing a blister.

IMG_3542

 

Chipotle for dinner.

IMG_3549

The morning after, my feet are a little sore and in pain, but not as bad as they have been. I think I tapered really good this week and not running a lot really helped. Along with icing and stretching my heels everyday, all day, at work. Makes me think my decision to take a month off running after Cleveland, is the right decision.

Oh! P.S. The new sunglasses? Fogged up around mile 2 and I ended up carrying them for a few miles. Put them back on later, and they were fine. So now I’m going back and forth on returning them and looking for ones that are smaller. I think my cheeks are too chubby because they touch my cheeks and then I don’t get much air to keep them NOT fogged up?! So that’s that.

The end. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Cap City’s 12th Half Marathon 2014

Leave a Reply

