Saturday’s beast mode run.

In Rachel’s words, we ran in a “monsoon” this morning. Not together…she did her mileage after the gym, and I did my mileage after, well, after I slept in and woke up. 😉 She had text me later in the day and asked if I ran in the monsoon too. Why yes. Yes, I did! And I was quite the drowned rat afterwards.

IMG_3645

Brave the run? Yes, yes I did. In all honesty though, it was only a “monsoon” for 5 miles of my 8 mile run. And it was about 70 degrees, so it felt GREAT! 🙂

You might be wondering why I was running solo today and not with the run club. Or maybe your NOT wondering…Anyway, I couldn’t go to sleep last night! And when I finally did get in bed, I was still wide awake and laid there listening to The Hus snore. Yes, I kicked and punched him numerous times. He didn’t budge. Neither one of us can figure out how he manages to not have ANY bruises from all the punching and kicking I do to him in his sleep…Anyhow, I could’t fall asleep, therefore when my alarm went off at 6:30, I was dead. I think I hit snooze once, but before I even set my phone back down, I reset my alarm for 8:00. True story. But when I woke up, my phone had died and it was actually 8:30. Guess I needed the sleep…

So I did my usual “pre-run routine” – coffee, bathroom, water, toast, bathroom, online shopping/pinteresting/catching up on blogs – then hit the trail about 10. In “the monsoon”. I wore my lightweight Reebok rain coat, but ended up tying it around my waist about mile 2. It just wasn’t even worth it. And it was hot. Yaaaaay HOT! 🙂

So here was my run today:

IMG_3653

So, after my first mile, my pace was 8:45. Don’t even ask how that happened. I still can’t figure it out…I was kinda up and down every other mile. Mile 2 was a 10:00 pace, and mile 3 was a 9:19 pace. And this is how my run went. No wonder I felt like throwing up during the first mile.

Some things that happened on my run:

~ A deer RIGHT on the side of the path scared me half to death when he lifted his head from eating, to cheer me on as I ran by. Then I noticed 2 more deer behind that one. When 2 bikers came up behind me, they were like, “Glad YOU saw that deer, because we didn’t and you never know if it’s gonna dart to the other side of the path!” Your welcome bikers. Anything I can do to help keep us all safe from the deer. 🙂

Disclaimer on this next bullet: I probably shouldn’t be admitting what I’m about to admit, but whatev. I can be ridiculous sometimes and what happened today just goes to show why The Hus is always saying to me, “Awww grzzz (his nickname for me) is just tryin’ to make it in the world!”

~ On my way out, I passed a guy running with a jogging stroller. On my way back, we passed each other again. As we were coming up on each other, we looked each other in the eye and did the little “runner wave”. Then he said, “Do you want a granola bar?” I was like, wow, he noticed that my “fuel” is depleted” (I forgot to grab a packet of Honey Stingers 😦 ), so he’s offering me a granola bar? Ok. Nice, but kinda weird. I said, “No thanks.” Then right as I passed and yelled out my “no thanks”, I heard the kid in the stroller yell, “what Dad?” Oh. Right. he wasn’t offering ME a granola bar…he was asking his kid if HE wanted a granola bar…I think it might be time to dye my hair brown.

And that was my 8 mile run. 🙂 Wet, fast (for me), and quite entertaining.

The rest of the day was spent wandering around Micro Center with Philco and now movie night with the Mom. Which also includes me giving me madre a pedicure for Mothers day. And making her a new recipe for chocolate peanut butter cookies – that DON’T have flour or butter! 🙂

And in case you missed it, I actually bought some shoes that are NOT running/working out shoes! I kinda forgot these kinds of shoes even existed! Even better – they were all clearance at Tar-jay! 🙂

IMG_3630 IMG_3654

And I’ll leave you with this:

772457c503d9129e17e25bf97a9dd4c1

Hope y’all are having a great weekend! Happy Mother’s day to all the moms! 🙂 And all the mamaletes. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Saturday’s beast mode run.

  1. Hahaha I love the granola bar story! I’ve totally done things like that before, I think we all have! Great first mile – I did a personal 5k today after being out for so long and felt like I was gonna throw up in the first mile @ 9:45. I have a LOT of catching up to do!

    Like

    • YAY for getting back to running!!! You will get back to where you were…just a matter of time. 🙂 It sucks though, having to work your way back, but once your back, you’ll be better than before!

      Like

Leave a Reply

