Dewey’s Pizza

I know it’s been a few weeks since I’ve posted a pizza review from a new pizza place…You can calm down now and hopefully get a good nights’ sleep tonight, because we finally got to try a new place today – Dewey’s pizza! If you remember, this is the place that we tried to go to months ago, but the wait was like, 30 minutes, and The Hus doesn’t “do waits”. Well, this was one “wait” that was soooo worth it! I actually got an email from one of their PR reps, inviting me to come try their pizza at their new location in Dublin! Um, yes please and thank you! They aren’t even open yet! They open on Monday, May 26th, and this week was a “friends and family practice week”. Oh yes, I’ll be your BFF OR your sister just to eat some pizza! 😉

DSC_1709

 

Anyhow, my personal photographer was able to go with me, so that was cool. He scored some backstage passes even!

deweys

We got to order whatever off of the menu to try – for free. Except the beer and wine, but of course I was willing to hand over some George Washington’s to try a glass of wine – a white blend made with 4 different grapes to be exact. Deeee-lish!

We didn’t order a salad to try, but they had a good variety of “different” salads; so I was really glad we decided to take the manager’s advice and order one! We ordered the Greek salad: field greens with kalamata olives, sun-dried tomatoes, roasted whole garlic cloves, red onions, cucumbers and feta cheese, drizzled with Dewey’s Greek dressing (roasted red pepper vinaigrette). Oh. My! SOOOOO good and I would definitely order that salad again! And I would definitely try one of their other salads too!

DSC_0058

They have calzones, so of course The Hus had to try that! He ordered it with pepperoni, sausage, and banana peppers.

DSC_0064

And we ordered a small pizza, half olive oil & garlic sauce and half red sauce – this place was MADE for couples like us! (I love an olive oil sauce and he loves his red sauce, but not many pizza places will do the sauces half and half.) So, half was ‘Socrates’ Revenge’ and half was ‘Bronx Bomber’. 

Socrates’ Revenge: 

Olive Oil, Minced Garlic, Mozzarella-Fontina Blend, Spinach, Black Olives, Green Olives, Feta Cheese, Red Onions, Tomatoes.

Bronx Bomber:

 Red Sauce, Mozzarella Cheese, Pepperoni, Sausage, Mushrooms, Onions, Green Peppers, Black Olives.

DSC_0063

DSC_0074

 

I know, you wanna jump through the screen huh? I want to too, and I just ate this today! 😉

And then of course our waitress, Alex, forced on us – ok, just mentioned – chocolate cake from a local bakery, so The Hus HAD to try THAT too. I mean, I wasn’t complaining, or turning down bites either…Sorry, cake came out, we dove right in, then remembered to take a picture…chocolate > pictures…you understand I’m sure.

DSC_0078

It was cool too because we got to sit at the bar, so we got to chit chat with our waitress and the manager. Learned that this location in Dublin will be the 18th restaurant to open, and the chain started, and is still run, by the same owner. They order all of their chicken and cheeses from local farmers, so it is organic, hormone free, etc…love that! And they don’t have freezers because everything is fresh and made right then and there! AND! They will make up pizza’s for you to take and bake at home! And then of course, the other huge lure for me, is that they will do half and half sauces – no more pizza fights! 🙂

Oh, and another thing! About their desserts…they are local too! They order the desserts from local bakeries. How’s that for supporting local business owners!? Since I grew up in a small, family owned business, I was taught to appreciate and support the small businesses, so I like that they get their desserts from the locals! 

This place seriously ties for 1st place with PI Pizza Kitchen in Paris, TN. Hands down. And no, I wasn’t paid to say that. 😉 And we were even able to take a couple pieces home for my mom to try. 🙂 I already got the “OMG” text tonight about how good it was. 🙂

Will Run For Pizza: pizzapizzapizzapizzapizzapizzapizzapizzapizzapizza

The Huspizzapizzapizzapizzapizzapizzapizzapizzapizza

 

 

Thanks  Emily, Eric, & Alex!! 🙂 We WILL be back! 😉

Leave a Reply

