Why do you run?

I have so many reasons that run. One of the reasons I run is because my brain miraculously turns into Einstein. I become a genius with all these great revelations, ideas, thoughts, motivation, blog posts, etc…Sometimes my “running brain” is dead, but a lot of the times, it comes alive. Today, was not really one of those days where I thought “genius” thoughts, but between the sun and heat, it renewed my mind 110%. Oh, and seeing the run club? Turkey trot? going on, motivated me. Weird?

IMAG0012 IMAG0013

 

Anyway, I mentally had a really great run. And I love that. 🙂 THAT, my friends, is why I run.

Some thoughts, things from my run today:

~ At one point, I was really pushing myself up the last hill, and right as I got to the top of the hill, a girl pushing a stroller was starting down the hill and she smiled at me. I was too drained from the hill to smile back and it wasn’t really a “smiling moment”. But I did wave!!

~ I’m a heel runner. I really “like” to stomp and pound my heels into the concrete when I run – and even just walk. Walking, I sound like an elephant coming through. Running, it isn’t the best form and post-feeling really. So I’ve been TRYING to land more flat-footed instead. I find it really uncomfortable and hard to try to land on your toes (are you even supposed to land on your toes???), so I’ve been trying to at least better my foot strike and land flat-footed. I am finding that it is easier to do this, when you are going faster. Win-win if you are trying to get faster. 🙂

~ Taking 5 days off of road running, 1 day of pool running, beats that get you moving = a faster run. <taking a mental note of that>

~ At the end of my run, a man that looked like a white Kenyan, just floated past me…wearing BioSkin calf sleeves! Made me go, “yaaay, I KNOW they are good if HE is wearing them!” (I do not even know this man.)

~ I’ve gotten kinda bad at going to bed too late on Friday night, to get up early enough to run with the run club on Saturday mornings. I do not like that. I miss running with ‘da club’. Although, I guess I passed them this morning…(refer to the ‘turkey trot’ picture above)

~ THIS, is NOT a hickie. I keep getting these “rashes” from certain shirts when I run, and I keep forgetting to put Body Glide around my neck. 😦 I would never allow a hickie on my body – even if no one could see it. And it hurts! 😦 This one is from the zipper – ya, the ZIPPER! – on the shirt I wore for the Cleveland half last Sunday!

IMAG0021[1]

 

~ This video – anyone ever see/hear of these?? Kinda interesting!

~ I’ll be 35 in 6 weeks. I am not as skinny as I once was, but I feel like I am in the best shape and health that I have ever been. True story. Don’t feel like you are too old to get in shape – or to be in the best shape of your life! Philco is always moping around that he abused his body and mind too much as a kid, teenager, and into his 20’s so much that he can never get into shape. That thinking is partly because of his bipolar, but still…it’s NOT true! (And speaking of bipolar, since it’s mental health awareness month, I’ve been thinking about doing a post on bipolar since I deal with it and the “episodes” on a daily basis with The Hus – another one of the MANY reasons I run…so i’m SURE there is SOMEONE else out there that can relate to this method – or needing a method – to cope with a mental illness…) Remember this video I shared a while ago?? Ya, it’s never too late.

 

~ Skinny does NOT = healthy. Got it? Post on that subject that I am passionate about, coming soon. 🙂

~ Skin Deep – Environmental Working Group, just created an app for scanning beauty products to see how toxic they are – similar to the Fooducate app, but this is for products and not food – FABULOUS! Just search ‘skin deep’ in your play store.

And that was my morning and run today. 🙂

So, why do YOU run??

 

Leave a Reply

