Birthday weekend, the time when change happens, and a pizza review!

Birthday weekend this weekend. There is nothing that gives me more energy than knowing I have 4 days OFF WORK! I was so excited going into this 4th of July/birthday weekend, and I had SO many plans for us – different classes at the gym, and other gyms, pizza, cake, gallery hop, bike rides, farmers market, a movie, etc….So by the time Saturday rolled around, after the Barre class at Seven Studios took place, and I got home completely exhausted, I was mad. I needed a nap. But I didn’t want to take a nap. I wanted to just go go GO! I didn’t wanna waste ANY minute of the weekend sleeping. But since I have a tendency to just go go GO all the time, it’s only fitting that it would catch up with me during a weekend…when I really could take some time to recover…

I was supposed to do a 6 mile run on Saturday (that was my scheduled “long run” for the week), but since I was so tired, and my calves and quads and butt were already hurting from Barre, I skipped it. 🙂 We ended up actually taking naps, going to church, then having movie night. And then Sunday morning I went to strength 7 at Seven Studios – a strength class with the Activmotion bar. I figured I could do my 6 mile “long run” after that class, but lo and behold, still sore – if not more. 🙂 So I skipped it again. 🙂 We did go for a 2 mile walk Friday night, Saturday night, and Sunday night with my mom because Philco felt like we were eating too much ice cream and cake…I dunno. Is buckeye ice cream cake too much?!

 

At least we went healthy-er today and got cookies from Pattycake Bakery! 😉 They are all organic and vegan baked goods. 🙂

But that was after we went to get pizza for a late lunch/early dinner. 🙂 This morning, my mom and I went to LifeBarre at Lifetime (I was so excited to go to this class because 1. I can never go to a barre class at LT because I have to work 😦 and 2. Alexander had shown me some of the moves he teaches during this class, AND he has us do some of them in strength on Thursdays, so I was really bummed when I first saw it on the schedule on a Monday morning at 9:30.) So with a Monday off, we made it! 🙂 Might I remind you that I was still sore from Thursday, Friday, Saturday, AND Sunday? After taking Barre on Saturday and Barre today, I decided my new calling is to be a ballerina. I kid. But for a split second, I felt like I wanted to be one. Even if I looked like a stiff board jumping through the air with my toes pointed and my arms and hands oh so gracefully floating around too. If you could see Alexander doing these moves, you would probably just sit down on your mat and enjoy the show because he makes it look so easy and graceful and as if you were actually at the ballet. Granted he used to be a ballet dancer…anyway, if you get the chance to try a Barre class, I highly recommend it. You will learn of muscles you have that you didn’t even know you had. And they are in places that we ALL want improvement with!

So. After this barre class, I couldn’t put it off any longer. That 6 miles had to get done. And after taking 1-2 hour naps the last 3 days, I felt a little more “recovered”. My mom and I went to get The Hus, and we all went to the park. And all went our separate ways. Philco did the 2 mile trail. Mom walked the 4 mile trail. And I ran 6 miles on the 4 mile trail. 🙂 My calves were soooooo sore. I wanted to walk so many times. I did walk once, but then I forced myself to keep going. There is always this point in our classes, at the end of the class, after he has pushed us super hard and we can barely breathe, where he gives us something else really challenging to finish off with. And it’s at this point, where he says, “Don’t stop nowThis is where change happens!” So for the last 2 miles of my run, when I wanted so badly to walk – partly because I had to pee really bad since the beginning of the run – that I heard that voice/phrase and just kept pushing. I kept thinking, this is exactly how I’m going to feel during the marathon at some point, so I need to get used to this and get used to pushing through the mental game of wanting to quit.

IMAG0496

 

And then…there was pizza. 🙂 We were going to go to Harvest pizza downtown, but I looked up their hours this morning and found out they don’t open until 5pm on Monday’s, so we went to another pizza place on my list – Antonio’s. And they have won awards, so we knew it had to be good. 🙂

antonios

The water spot? We got into a water fight. 🙂 We will never grow up.

antonio's pizza  II

 

 

We ordered half and half of course. 🙂 Half buffalo chicken and half white. And then the classic stromboli – with pepperoni, sausage, cheese, and banana peppers. We definitely liked the pizza better than the stromboli. The pizza crust was home made and was thin and crispy! Guys. This pizza was SO good. I mean good. The stromboli was…eh, ok. It was good, but nothing spectacular, out-of-this-world, like the pizza. We would definitely go back and just get pizza. Oh my gosh. Perfection.

Will Run For Pizza – pizza pizzapizzapizzapizzapizzapizzapizzapizzapizza

The Hus & The Mom – pizzapizzapizzapizzapizzapizzapizzapizzapizza

And then I got my birthday present from me madre. 🙂

IMAG0518

Yes, this is the beginning of a kick.

It was a great weekend. A great birthday. And some great workouts. 🙂

How do you display your race medals/bibs?

Have you ever taken a barre class? Love it??

Do you have any dancing in your background??? I took dance classes when I was really young. It included ballet, tap, and jazz. I think I loved it, but was not good at all. 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “Birthday weekend, the time when change happens, and a pizza review!

Leave a Reply

