Kayaking and a hill workout.

My first time kayaking on Saturday was a success! As soon as we have more storage space, I’m buying a couple kayaks for sure! What a great, relaxing workout! And I’m a fish, so anything on/in the water is right up my alley. We had bought a Groupon for 4, for a 4 mile trip, and then one of Philco’s work buddies came with us, but if we had our own kayaks, it’d be a cheap, fun cross-training workout!

kayaking

Saturday night, me, Rachel (it was a Rachel-filled day), and Chandra went to North Market’s wine festival. It was….well…great after we used our brains for the good of the team. It was $25 for 10 tickets. At our first “tasting”, they told us it was 4 tickets. After they had poured our wine…it was then that we looked at the brochure and realized that each winery and wine was a different number of tickets. So we stuck with the 1’s and 2’s. 🙂 We went to try wines! Not have 2 little ounces for $25! So. After we tried a few wineries, we each had a $5 food voucher for inside the market, so we headed inside to get something. As we passed a wine booth, we happened to ask if they take the $5 food vouchers, and they did, so we put our vouchers together, found a bottle of wine that was $14.99 (red blend), paid the $.04, and found a picnic table. 🙂 We are true winos. 🙂

IMAG0618[1] IMAG0619[1]

Sunday. Rest day. 🙂

Monday we made it to strike. My back is still killing me!

And tonight? The Hus and I had an appointment after work, so I knew I wouldn’t make it to spinning and contact, so I figured I would just go to the park and do a short little run. It has cooled down a little here, so it really was the perfect night to run – 68 degrees! It was about 8:00 before I headed out to the park, and I decided I was going to head over to Hoover Dam and do some hill work on the stairs. Ya. 1. It was busy! But I love it when it’s busy. It motivates me. I love seeing people exercising and enjoying life. 2. Hills are not fun. They had 2 sets of steps on both sides of the dam and then next to the steps, they had a grassy area that was mowed down and had some netting on it so that you could run up and down on the grass. I chose the grass. The stairs weren’t very steep and there was a lot of people on the stairs anyway. My goal going into this little workout, was to do 30 minutes of hills. I did the 30 minutes by God! It was rough though. I did 10 “laps” – up and down – the grassy hill, and then 3 sets, up and down, on the stairs. I have a feeling my calves will be yelling at me tomorrow.

IMAG0621[1] IMAG0622[1] IMAG0624[1]

After 30 minutes on this hill, I came home and did some arms and abs.

IMAG0632[1]

I was in the middle of some strength training when The Hus walked in from coming back from the park, so I got him involved and challenged him to try some of the exercises. He was struggling. 😉 So he asked me to create some 20 minute strength workouts that he can start doing after he goes to the park. He wants to lose some weight, so this should help and give him some structure – which he needs. 🙂 I’ll be sure to share the workouts with you once I make them up!

And that’s my life the last few days! 🙂 Oh, and some spinach lasagna tonight that really hit the spot.

IMAG0637[1]

Now it’s catching up on season 3 of ‘Revenge’. 🙂

Hope your having a great week so far!

What did you do over the weekend? What’s your favorite show??

Leave a Reply

