THE HILLS ARE ALIVE!

It’s almost as if I actually liked the pain that my hill workout caused me last week, because I found myself back at “the hill” last night…This hill:

IMAG0622[1]

 

The only difference was, I was on the other side of the dam last night. But I went earlier this time – about 5-ish – so there were only a handful of other “crazy hill runners” that were actually running the stairs. With their trainer. Which included some push-ups and burpees in between their rounds of stairs. NOT ME THOUGH! NO SIR-EE! Alexander wasn’t there to yell “BURPEES!”, so I wasn’t about to just take it upon myself to “take my workout to the next level”. As far as I was concerned, my workout was already at the next level! Plus, It. Was. HOT!

I did 10 “laps” (a.k.a. up AND down) on the grassy hill, and then 5 “laps” on the stairs. As soon as I got to the top of the hill the second time, some guy warned me that the park dudes will yell at me if they catch me running on the grass. What?!?! He said he was there last night, and they yelled at a bunch of people running on the grass. Said they just planted new grass in the one section, and they didn’t want the runners messing it up. Oh, and if they catch you, it’s “only” 1 night in jail and a $500 fine. Only. But you get ONE phone call. All that, for…RUNNING. IN THE GRASS. In the words of Steven, one of my co-workers, “Only in America”. 🙂 Obviously I’m a rebel, I don’t mind being in jail, I keep $500 in my bra at all times for times such as these – not really – so I kept running in the grass. 🙂 I mean, I did move over to the “old grass”, and stayed off the “new grass”. 🙂

IMAG0676[1]

After 20 minutes of this hill – ok, NINETEEN minutes, I headed to the gym for contact, a.k.a. kickboxing. I had 30 minutes to spare since traffic wasn’t as bad as I expected, so I hit the lovely treadmill for 25 more minutes of….HILL INTERVALS! No, this is not a new addiction. I just figured since it was “hill night”, I might as well do more. More = better right?!

IMAG0680[1]

IMAG0682[1]

I just did increments of 1/10th of a mile at 15% incline, and then 1/10th of a mile at 0%. And back and forth for 25 minutes. And 34 seconds. 🙂 Then it was off to kickboxing!

I’m sore today. Actually, more my back and arms and nosomuch my legs. Figure that one out!?

Today I’m taking a rest day to prepare for strength tomorrow, a speed run Friday, and 9 miles this weekend. Next weekend starts the REALLY fun long runs of the training plan – 14 miles! This week is pretty much my last “low mileage” week. If you wanna call 9 miles, “low miles”…?

Now I’m off to get my zucchini outta the oven and then head to my small group! Have a great rest of your day! We’re on the downward hill towards the weekend, y’all! Wooohooo! 🙂

IMAG0695[1]

Today I’m thankful for:

~fresh veggies from local friends/farmers! Made 8 loaves of chocolate zucchini bread, and zucchini every night for dinner this week in SOME new shape or form!

~rest day 🙂

What are YOU thankful for today? Do you have a garden??  

2 thoughts on “THE HILLS ARE ALIVE!

Leave a Reply

