Hot Chocolate Race Review

I’m not sure what all cities this race is in, but I really hope that if they do this race in the south, it’s actually cold for those people. 🙂 I’m just sayin’. That was the coldest race I’ve done so far, but the hot chocolate at the end was the best hot chocolate I’ve ever had. Or maybe it was the fact that it was really cold and it warmed me right up?!

IMG_20141116_092444126[1]

And inside that giant mug, they give you some chocolate fondue and a banana, rice krispy, pretzels, and some wafers to dip. Hello! Worth a 9 mile run? YES!

Along the race, they even pass out handfuls of chocolate and marshmallows. I’m not big on marshmallows, and it was just too early for chocolate, while running, but fun nonetheless.

I tried to track down some feet warmers yesterday, but EVERYWHERE was wiped out. Took about 3 miles for my toes to warm up, and about 6 miles for my fingers to stop tingling, but it was still a lot of fun. I was super glad for fleece lined pants and shirt! And in the beginning, there were s#@* flakes! (I’m not ready to say the ‘s’ word.) And p.s. That was the first time I used that spibelt for my phone, and it’s fabulous! Never  bounced. Never moved. It’s small and flat, so it’s gonna be perfect for any run to just carry my phone – so much  better than the arm bands! Or carrying it. Or the other belts that I have that are more for fuel…

Anyhow. This race was a lot of fun, and well organized – especially for the 5k and 15k because there was a split at mile 2.5 AND both 5k and 15k runners/walkers crossing the finish line at the same time. The official time, for Amy, since I was Amy today because she has a stupid stress fracture in her foot & couldn’t run so she gave me her bib, was 1:28:??. But according to my watch, I ran 9.5 miles in 1:29:03. I know. Overachiever. Or, my watch needs an update or something. 😉

hot choc 15k

So if you want a fun race, cool medal, and chocolate, this is the race to run. 🙂 I think they are adding more cities next year too, so be on the lookout! Oh, and you get a really nice hoodie too! But no pic because it’s still in the bag. I’m saving it for Amy since it was her bib but she couldn’t run. 🙂

hot chocolate run

Since I have been so busy the last week, and hadn’t ran since last weekend, I was SO excited to run this race and just get out there. The rest of the day was spent taking a nap, doing laundry, prepping lunches, and having our family pasta dinner.

1116141530[1]

Hope you guys had a great weekend! 🙂

Are you getting the cold weather and snow yet?

Do you do any winter races??

15 thoughts on “Hot Chocolate Race Review

  1. They had a Frozen Chocolate 10k in Austin the first week of September. It was HORRIBLE. The 10k started 20 minutes after the 5k, and it was already in the mid 80s. The course was terrible–half of it was on a rocky gravel road–and there was no chocolate station or anything else. It was so miserable I could hardly eat the ice cream at the end. No cold winter race, no hoodie. Glad thid is s good race in general, but the Austin one was a bust.

    Like

  2. They have a Ghiradelli chocolate race event in SoCal, and I always think it sounds like fun! Though you’re right, it might be like 80 degrees here and in that case, I would not be wanting hot cocoa. Thought of you over the weekend because I did a Foodie 5K and all of the signs everywhere said, “WILL RUN FOR FOOD”…. that’s pretty much the only time I’ll run! hahaha

    Like

Leave a Reply

